Fuel livesaving advancements, all year round! Give Monthly

Close Icon

Student Honors

From left: Hannah Diaz, D.N.P. ‘23, Amanda Wilson, M.S. ’23, and Nikol Yonemura, M.S. ’23

Three School of Health Professions students recognized with Baylor Alumni Association’s Lehmann Outstanding Student Award 

Three School of Health Professions students – Hannah Diaz, D.N.P. ‘23, Amanda Wilson, M.S. ’23, and Nikol Yonemura, M.S. ’23 – received a Baylor College of Medicine Lehmann Outstanding Student Award at the School’s annual awards ceremony on Dec. 1. The award is presented by Baylor’s Alumni Association and includes a $500 scholarship to help support their training.

The Lehmann award is named in honor of ophthalmology resident alumnus and active alumni volunteer Robert P. Lehmann, M.D., Int. ’74, Res. ‘77, who made a gift in 2011 to establish a permanent endowment to present the yearly scholarships.

Ms. Diaz was recommended for the award by Baylor’s Doctor of Nursing Practice Program based on her exceptional commitment to her studies, patients and nurse anesthesia profession, with clinical faculty and preceptors praising her professionalism and dedication throughout the clinical phase of her program.

Ms. Wilson’s tenacity, self-motivation and willingness to push herself out or her comfort zone, along with her consistently positive attitude and ability to interact with patients, were cited by the Orthotics and Prosthetics Program as reasons to recommend her for the award.

The Physician Assistant Program named Ms. Yonemura for the award in recognition of her leadership and community service in volunteer activities for underserved populations, noting her compassion and empathy to others around her.  

“These students exemplify the exceptional and well-rounded individuals who enter our School of Health Professions graduate programs each year,” said Todd A. Reinhart, Sc.D., dean of the School. “They come in with many strengths and tremendous drive and capitalize on the exceptional learning environment that Baylor provides. I am so very proud of these individuals and the faculty and staff members who taught and supported them on their journey.”