Fuel livesaving advancements, all year round! Give Monthly

Close Icon

AUA 2024

Angelo Gousse, M.D., and Michael Coburn, M.D., at AUA 2024 

Innovations and advances in Urology: Highlights from the 2024 American Urological Association Annual Meeting 

The Scott Department of Urology made a strong showing at the 2024 American Urological Association (AUA) Annual Meeting, held in San Antonio, Texas, May 3-6. Faculty, residents and staff from the Department actively participated in various sessions, including poster presentations, podium talks and plenary discussions. With over 40 presentations, the topics covered ranged from male infertility to bladder cancer. 

Notable highlights included the presentation of a Presidential Citation to Michael Coburn, M.D., for his outstanding leadership on the ACGME Urology Review Committee and his contributions to advancing urological trauma care. This recognition marks the second consecutive year that a faculty member from the Scott Department of Urology has received this honor. Additionally, Angelo Gousse, M.D., a 1996 graduate of the Department’s residency program, was honored with the Distinguished Contribution Award for his dedicated research in treating voiding dysfunction and overactive bladder. 

Beyond the scientific sessions, alumni and friends of the department gathered at the annual reception to engage in meaningful conversations and reconnect. 

For more details about the AUA Annual Meeting, you can visit the official AUA2024 website